LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Analoge inputs ELVIS - "crosstalk"

Greetings,

I am a student and I am trying to use NI ELVIS analog inputs to measure 3 different signals at the same time. I'm using the DAQ assistant and am getting confusing results.

For testing purposes I connected 2 function generators (sine function on one, and triangular function on the other) and one DC power supply. 

On the charts I can clearly see that the peeks of the sine functions are not the same, and the DC reading has either a sine or triangular form of a lesser AC component amplitude than the amplitude of the AC signals but of course with the added DC value.
Let's say the AC component on the DC signal looks like a triangular function. If I disconnect the triangular function, then it gets an AC component of a sine function and the peeks of the sine function become equal. If i connect back the sine function, and the AC component of the DC signal looks like a sine function again and peeks of the sine functions again are not the same.

The problem also exists in the oscilloscope application.
When using oscilloscope inputs, there is no such problem. but my assignment is to measure 3 signals, and there are only 2 oscilloscope inputs.
Can anyone please help me or at least explain to me why is this happening?

Best regards,
Marin Filipec

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 10
(3,181 Views)

It sounds like you might have mis-wired the inputs to your Elvis, or not properly grounded something (the usual recipe for crosstalk).  Your Signal Generator should have a Ground and Signal out.  To look at three channels, you should configure differential inputs, with Signal Generator Ground going to the low Analog Input for Channels 0, 1, and 2, and the high (signal) pins going to the high Analog Inputs for these channels.