LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Am I crazy!! - need advice

Hi everyone - Im a total newbie here and need some advice. I have an idea for a product I think may fly, I plan to prototype and test using labview and see if the results look promising, I will need a simple DAQ with analogue inputs and outputs to monitor the linear speed of a device using a potentiometer and then apply some simple math to try and calibrate it for different apps. Here is my question if I get the system working and build a nice GUI and executable is it crazy to put the daq into the device and distribute the labview exe and DAQ board as a product. I assume I could buy an oem board and fit it around my housing. Has anyone done this or am I nuts? - after spending all the cash on a version of labview and developing a nice software installer im not going to have the cash flow to hire a programmer and electrical engineer immediately to finish the job into a final product config. This obviously would be the final plan, but I need some systems out there to get me started.

As for the software is it possible to create databases and add sample id's, trend data over time etc and also create reports in the labview software,  i havent dug around but it seems everything is possible with this wonderful software.

Thanks for any guidance and help you can offer - any pointers on good books and tutorials to build a nice gui with record storing , sample trending and reporting would be great.

FYI im a mechanical engineer and this is not my bag yet!! , but I have confidence I can do this

Thanks again

Tim

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 4
(2,746 Views)

You can do everything that you ask about here. I'm quite surprised you bought LabVIEW first though, without checking if you could do all that stuff! Specing things out is important, especially on the hardware side of things; so make sure what you purchase is capable of doing what you want.