LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Alternative to event structures?

Hello,

I am an extreme newbie without much programming experience just starting labview, the attached PNG is meant to give you an idea of what I'm trying to do-- warning: it will probably break your heartI know it's breaking all the rules of good programming, but I have to start somewhereANY comments or suggestions would be VERY VERY much appreciated. Basically, I want a program to send and receive text-based (visa) messages to set and read out some (~200, including all channels) hardware parameters.

Instead of having the user enter a setting and press "set,"  (using case structures) I would like a change in the control on the front panel to trigger an event which sends a visa message for that particular parameter onlyThe problem is, I only have the 8.5 base package, therefore no access to event structuresAll the online resources I can find basically say "this is why to use event structures instead of anything else." My question is: what is the best alternative to event structures? What did you guys do before them? And most importantly, does anyone know where I can find some examples?? From what I can tell, my options are: somehow use the "wait for front panel activity" with (?!?!?different subpanels?!?!), use the "occurrences" function, use "notifier operations" functions, polling (note: everyone talks about polling, I haven't really been able to find any examples OF polling in a general sense, of course there are the examples of GPIB polling, but that's a function and doesn't help much), or somehow use a queued state machine.

Sorry this question is vague, I can figure out how to implement it if someone could suggest which of these is the best direction to start going in... Thanks!

Best regards,

Anna

PS. Thanks to Altenbach for GetVIImages.vi

http://forums.ni.com/ni/board/message?board.id=170&message.id=123849&query.id=139385

Download All
0 Kudos