cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Agilent E3631A

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello to everyone,   Smiley Happy

I am relatively new to labview and trying to control my Agilent E3631A Power Supply.  Smiley Frustrated

So I got myself a serial-usb-adapter and downloaded the driver from the NI website: 

http://sine.ni.com/apps/utf8/niid_web_display.download_page?p_id_guid=0475216F9FCA5335E0440003BA7CCD...

I unzipped the folder, and opened the examples, but I keep getting errors.. 

I attached the error I get when I open the basic example vi. 

It takes about 45 seconds till this error pops up, so I assume it is doing something, but in Highlight Execution mode I can't see what exactly..

Thank you very much in advance, Smiley Happy

Keksbold

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 27
(8,112 Views)

hrmm.. sorry, I forgot the attachment...Smiley Embarassed

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 27
(8,107 Views)

That seems like the kind of error you get when you're trying to connect to a device that isn't recognized or is on the wrong port.

Are you sure COM 7 is the right port?

Is there any additional driver SW from Agilent that you need to install to get the device to be recognized correctly?

I've used these type of power supplies over GPIB a lot but never over USB.

Message 3 of 27
(8,078 Views)

Hello taki,

yes, COM7 is the right port (when I unplug it it disappear, so I am quite sure..)

You might be right about it not recognizing the device, when I go to Tools -> Instrumentation ->Find Instrument Drivers it says "no connected instruments detected"

I do not know, do you think I might need to install one of these?

http://www.home.agilent.com/agilent/facet.jspx?k=E3631A&sm=g&lc=eng&cc=US

In the tutorials it is always basically just plug and play so I didn't expect that I needed to install additionnal software..

Thank you very much,

Keksbold

0 Kudos
Message 4 of 27
(8,076 Views)

Update: