LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Agilent 8753ES with LabView 2013 Visa error using GPIB.

When trying to communicate with the 8753ES and pull the real and imaginary parts of S21 and S22 I get a VISA error on the real parts of the signals. The imaginary parts work OK and I can see the data but the Real parts both get the following error;

VISA Read in
HP8753 Read
Format.vi -
> HP8753
Collect and
Display Data.vi-
> Read S22 Re
and Im.vi -
Automated
Permeability
Measurement
with S22.v

I am using Windows 7 (64 bit), LabView 2013, and a program wirtten by someone else who is no longer available. I downloaded the LabView driver for the 8753ES from both NI and from another place and both versions seem to do the same thing so I am getting the feeling it is a configuration issue and not a programming one.

Sorry but I am fairly new to LabView programming.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 5
(2,914 Views)

Greetings MarkBurleson

Can you confirm that this error message appears with the Agilent 87xx Series Read and Graph Data.vi example that comes with the driver? (If you installed it in the default directory, it should be accessible in C:\Program Files (x86)\National Instruments\LabVIEW 2013\instr.lib\Agilent 87XX Series) Read the description of the example in the Context Help to see how to set up the example properly.

Let us know if the example also exhibits that error and if it doesn’t, try to troubleshoot the program that you are using based on that example. Let us know how it goes. Have a nice day.

Warm Regards, 

Luis J.
Applications Engineer
National Instruments
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 5
(2,882 Views)

I finally got the driver from NI.com to work today and it has no errors on any of the data it pulls from the analyzer.