From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Acquiring temp with NI 9214 using labview fpga

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello there,

I am a student, very new to labview and data acquisition. I have been having problems with wiring a type T thermocouple to an NI 9214 module and writing a labview FPGA program to acquire temperatures. I have been struggling with this and researching the web for a long time to no avail.

Please find attached the code I am working with. I was told to use the obtained CJC value and convert using the formula I found here ( http://zone.ni.com/reference/en-XX/help/370984T-01/criodevicehelp/9214_converting/ ) and the thermocouple type T conductor tables to find the temperature, but I didnt obtain anything that made sense.

Please can someone help me out?

Jeremiah

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 8
(4,271 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author jey_0320

Hi Jeremiah,

Are you using this 9214 in a cRIO chassis? If so, which model?

As far as converting the data, you will have to take care of fetching the data from the host side (you will need a separate VI) and taking care of the conversion there. When you mention you don't obtain anything that makes sense, what exactly are you reading/expecting?

I strongly suggest you open and tinker with the shipping host/FPGA example VIs for the 9214 (NI 9214 Getting Started.lvproj, found in Program Files\National Instruments\LabVIEW 2013\examples\CompactRIO\Module Specific\NI 9214\NI 9214 Getting Started). These should allow you to have a good background in understanding the relationship between the host and the FPGA VIs.

Hope this helps!

Xavier
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 8
(4,217 Views)

Hello Xavier,