cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Accounting for signal drift

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello,

I'm a beginner LabVIEW-user and have a question that maybe painfully obvious to a more experienced user.

I am using a CP225D Sartorius analytical balance to record changing mass at the mg-scale due to withdrawal and dispensation of a fluid in a container. Regardless of blocking room airflow, approximate room temperature, and unchanging or repositioning the initial load for several hours, a fairly linear and continual negative drift will occur for the balance readout. This drift occurs regardless if there is anything on the scale or not. I am using supplied Sartorius VI's to read and record the readouts.

How can I use LabVIEW to adjust this signal for this negative drift using the linear relationship I can derive from previous sample runs? I have previously tried to collect the signal from the difference between the balance readout and the linear relationship I have approximated, but as time progresses, even this manipulated signal drops to the exact balance readout if it had allowed to run without being manipulated. Better still, how could I manipulate the signal from a prior flat sequence frame curve fitting to the signal being recorded in the next frame?

I would appreciate any direction or help that could lead me to a solution. I tried contacting Sartorius helpline but little help was offered. I will share as much information as I can.

Thank you for reading this,

Zach

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 2
(2,417 Views)
Solution
Accepted by Zac58

Zach,

The instrument probably does not drift linearly forever or the value would eventually go out of range.  The manual I donwloaded requires 30 miniute, 4 hours, or 24 hours of warmup time, depending on the model and the application.