LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Access user's login name in Labview

Solved!
Go to solution
I am a Labview novice. I'm developing an application in which I would like to access the persons name who logged onto the computer. I would then like to match the users name against a list of allowed users in order to run the application. Is there an easy way to accomplish this in Labview?    
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 8
(4,044 Views)

The Application.UserName will return the user name used to open the application:

As for checking it against a list, where's the list coming from? Is it a file? A database? Someplace else? If it's a file you will probably read it into an array and you can then use Search 1D Array to see if the name is in the list (taking into consideration upper/lower case). 

To learn more about LabVIEW it is recommended that you go through the tutorial(s) and look over the material in the NI Developer Zone's Learning Center which provides links to other materials and other tutorials. You can also take the online courses for free.

Message Edited by smercurio_fc on 02-27-2009 09:39 AM
Message 2 of 8
(4,030 Views)
Solution
Accepted by chuck72352
Take a look at the attached code, it is in 8.0.  (Beat to the punch)

Message Edited by jmcbee on 02-27-2009 08:41 AM
Download All
Message 3 of 8
(4,029 Views)

I just tried your suggestion in my application and it works great. I dont really understand it but I'll read up.

Thank you very much!

0 Kudos
Message 4 of 8
(4,012 Views)

jmcbee wrote:
Take a look at the attached code, it is in 8.0.  (Beat to the punch)

Yes, well, you still got marked as the solution, and got a Kudos to boot! I guess sometimes coming in second is better. Smiley Very Happy

Message 5 of 8
(3,988 Views)