From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Acceleration to displacement using labview

Hi, 

I'm new in labview , i need to get displacement from acceleration signal and doing two integrations to get the displacement, i'am using ADXL335 Accelerometer, when i begin the first integration to get velocity the signal drifts ,is that have something with DC compenont or DC offsets? if so is there a solution to remove it?

Thank you  

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 14
(4,944 Views)

You will normally do a calibration on your accelerometer.  This would include an offset value that you would measure when there is no load (everything is stationary).  Then it is just a simple subtraction to remove the offset.

GCentral
There are only two ways to tell somebody thanks: Kudos and Marked Solutions
Unofficial Forum Rules and Guidelines
"Not that we are sufficient in ourselves to claim anything as coming from us, but our sufficiency is from God" - 2 Corinthians 3:5
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 14
(4,910 Views)

Thanks for your replay, actually i did calibration and removed the mean offset (noise of the signal) but the drifting persists , may be there is another cause.

I'm using integral x(t) PtByPt Vi to do integration.

I will be greateful for Any suggestions .

Thanks.

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 14
(4,902 Views)

Do you happen to have Sound and Vibration toolkit? It has built in integration function along with other useful tools. If you must use the "integral x(t) PtByPt Vi", I would double check your integral computations using known waveform. i.e. Insert sin(x) as an input waveform and you should get output waveform as -cos(x)+c.

0 Kudos
Message 4 of 14
(4,887 Views)