From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

2001 TCSCAN

Hello,
I am a newbie so please be gentle Smiley Happy I am looking for a VI (with VISA) to close a specific channel in a TCSCAN-2001 card which is connected with a KE2000 DMM (or 2001 DMM) and then measure the DC signal.
Now I am doing this by ROUT:CLOS etc then read the signal but I get,  now and then, an Error 6 in labview. I am using Labview 7.1.
Thanks a lot,

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 18
(3,844 Views)
The command is correct. Are you using this driver or did you write everything yourself? Error 6 can be either a LabVIEW generic file I/O error or GPIB I/O operation aborted. Assuming you get the error when doing GPIB, then it could be caused by dataflow problems. If you start a read from the instrument and then do a write to it before the read finishes, that could cause the error. If you are not using the driver, I would recomend that you try that and make sure you are connecting the error in/error out clusters to enforce dataflow. You could also post your program for someone to look at.
Message 2 of 18
(3,836 Views)
hi,
thanks for the message. the error message is something like "6 : Labview file error" and it takes place from time to time (i figure that either I am trying to read too fast or some initialisation is wrong). but I will use the IVI drivers and I hope it will be better. I will let you know.
thanks a lot, best regards
N

PS. I forgot to mention : I wrote all commands by myself with GPIB send and Keithley scpi book (that's why it doesnt work 🙂

Message Edité par nitad54448 le 06-19-2007 03:51 PM

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 18
(3,834 Views)

The exact message should be:

Possible reason(s):

LabVIEW:  Generic file I/O error.