LabVIEW for LEGO MINDSTORMS and LabVIEW for Education

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

What is .rxe file extension

Solved!
Go to solution
Can someone please tell me what the .rxe file extension is?  I received some files from the NI Standalone NXT robot (Switzerland) and their files were compressed with rar.  When I uncompressed them they were the .rxe files.  I cannot find what type of files these are.  I am completely new to Labview, so perhaps they are some type of Labview file?
Thank you, Jon Hauris
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 5
(20,932 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author hauris

RXE files are generated by the LEGO MINDSTORMS programming environment (also called NXT-G; it is based on LabVIEW but not equivalent).  These files contain binary data representing a MINDSTORMS program.  To open them, you need the LEGO software.

This comparison may also help clarify:

*.rxe is the binary file format for LEGO MINDSTORMS (NXT-G)

*.vi is the binary file format for LabVIEW

*.doc is the binary file format for Microsoft Word

------
James Blair
NI R&D
Message 2 of 5
(20,925 Views)
I'm sorry guys to bug you with this question but I am very very new to NXT (I just got mine 2 days ago) and I am curious about programming languages and files. I found this question about .rxe files and while I understand that this is the binary format, I am not sure I understand how to open them. In the last reply,

James B. wrote:

RXE files are generated by the LEGO MINDSTORMS programming environment (also called NXT-G; it is based on LabVIEW but not equivalent).  These files contain binary data representing a MINDSTORMS program.  To open them, you need the LEGO software.

What LEGO software are you referring to? I tried to use the LEGO Mindstorms NXT that comes in the package but all it seems to know how to open are .rbt files.

Thanks in advance for all your help.

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 5
(20,696 Views)