LabVIEW for LEGO MINDSTORMS and LabVIEW for Education

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Unable to load Lego software using a student logon

Solved!
Go to solution
Hello all, I have been trying to get the factory shipped Lego software to work over our network (we are a school and are using s RM CC3 Network). I have been able to get the package to work correctly for an admin user (full access to the local computer), however when trying to us this software as a student I am getting the following error. "Error Loading "fantom.dll"A dynamic link library (DLL) initialization routine failed. This error appears as the software is loading then it crashes out before opening the main program. If someone could give me an idea what permission need to be given where or a solution on how to resolve this issue? I have not downloaded the toolkit or any extra software as of yet because if it is possible I would prefer to get this working with the standard software.  Many thanks in advanced, Richard
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 10
(12,232 Views)

Fantom is an essential piece of driver software that allows MINDSTORMS to communicate with the NXT.  It should be included on the software installation CD, so no additional downloads are necessary.  The DLL you mentioned gets installed to the system directory (c:\windows\system32 on a standard system).  "Student" users must have the ability to load files from this directory (they don't need write access) for MINDSTORMS to work properly.

I'm a little confused as to how the "network" factors into your situation.  Are you trying to run the installation over the network?  Are you expecting users to run MINDSTORMS from an installed network location?  If the second, I believe you'll still need to install Fantom on each individual system where students might connect an NXT.

------
James Blair
NI R&D
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 10
(12,225 Views)