LabVIEW Idea Exchange

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
0 Kudos
EngrStudent

drafting-like mouse cursor, menus, routing, and layers

Any idea that has not received any kudos within a year after posting will be automatically declined.

A number of years ago I worked as a drafter.  The software that we used at the time had several features that LabVIEW might find advantageous to consider.  It is also worth mentioning that some of these ideas are multiple decades old so while a copyright may exist for a particular design style, the patents (if they existed) are no longer in force.  That means that you can copy the general function as NI, and copyright the design. 

These include:

• "Fence" selection - when a left-to-right selection box is made, only objects inside it are selected, but when a right-to-left selection is used, anything crossing the "fence" of the selection box is selected.  This allows single-move selection instead of control-click each, or other ergonomic (and speed reducing) methods.
  •  "Control-click menus".  Hold control and right-click and a new set of quick menus happen.  This means that instead of moving the mouse to the menu-bar you can get to the most useful items with quick actions.  Again - ergonomics and speed.  If they can be user-customized, all the better.
  • "Zoom in and out".  Multiple scales are important for visual languages.  
  • "Via's".  Yes it is from routing electrical circuits, but having a "magic manhole" that wires go into and out of to visually handle intersections in an intuitive manner is going to make things cleaner.  One of the things that naturally come with via's is layers.  The metaphor for the block diagram is a piece of paper, but what about translucency?  Layers might give an intuitive metaphor to sub-vi's that make them more accessible.

As I do more of this work, and more of the "I wish they had that" come to mind, I hope to append them to this thread.

Best regards.

6 Comments