LabVIEW Idea Exchange

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
0 Kudos
technobum

disable scroll bar in block diagram

Any idea that has not received any kudos within a year after posting will be automatically declined.

I would love to have an option to remove scrollbars from block diagram.  I have been using LabVIEW since 2001 and I am constantly having to modify code from engineers who are using LabVIEW for the first time.  If there was a way to enforce the good practice of making the block diagram the size of a single screen, this would help me a ton.  I realize that developers use computers with different screen resolutions so the option to display scrollbars still needs to be there but it would be great if it could be disabled.
9 Comments
RavensFan
Knight of NI

No way.  Never.

First, as much as you might like to force people to always force people to maintain code to one screen, it isn't always possible.  Using multiple invoke nodes and property nodes, or activeX functions forces the code to get wide very quickly.  And having more than one screen isn't necessarily a bad thing, just like local variables aren't always evil.  It's more important to code neatly and modularly than it is to force a constraint of keeping it in one screen.

How would you handle these situations if you didn't allow scroll bars.

1.  You need to create some space in a middle of a small loop, but that forces other code that may be too close to the edge off the screen.

2.  You copy and past code from another VI, or front panel elements.  Have you ever noticed that the block diagram code sometimes ends up way off screen in a place you would never expect?  How would you get that back?