LabVIEW Embedded

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

getting started

Hi all,

I am an experienced LV programmer, but not with the embedded systems (RT, FPGA yes).

I have a friend who has been doing some work with a pandaboard (ARM9 dual core) and I am going to start working with him on a project, so I will have my own board.

I am just wondering if I can use the pandaboard with the LV for ARM system (I have a developer's subscription).  I really don't know anything about embedded LV, and I can't seem to find good resources for getting started.

So...

1) Can I use it with the pandaboard?
1b) If yes, is it so convoluted for a beginner that I am better off with one of the NI-sold eval kits?

2) Can you point me to a good resource for getting started?  Not just "jump-right-in" but maybe something even higher level so I get a feeling for what systems the kit will run on and how it all works?

Thanks!

Jed 

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 11
(6,729 Views)

Hi Jed,

It would be great if NI made it easy for us to target your Pandaboard, but alas their marketing strategy is to whet your appetite with underperforming, 6 year old Cortex-M3 or ARM7 evaluation boards (which actually run LabVIEW in an (intentionally?) inefficient manner - see here) and then convince you that their own H/W is really the solution to your problem.   While it might be a solution, you end up paying an arm and a leg for it compared to the Pandaboard for example. 

The only possible option I am left to try that can be coded up in LabVIEW which is reasonably priced, low power, customisable, capable, small form-factored, soft real time and OEM friendly is a Computer On Module containing an Intel x86 Atom CPU that runs Linux.  The Qseven form factor suits my needs and hopefully my evaluation of it is favourable.