Instrument Control (GPIB, Serial, VISA, IVI)

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

yokogawa aq6370

hi, i ama working on a application which gets optical spectrum data from an Optical Spectrum Analyser (OSA) by Yokogawa, it supports tcp/ip ethernet interface so i have developed a code using labview VIs they have provided(i am a beginner to labView :-] ), following closely with the example VIs they have given to communicate with the OSA. However after much trouble trying to establish a communication, i finally managed to make a connection and then i get error 1074003951, Identification Query failed.

the example VIs also return this error and i have tried to run the program with ID query turned off, but for no avail. Has anyone got experiance with such an instrument? or got more detail on TCP/IP communication via labview/on the error than what NI provide?

thank you very much, i stress the urgency since the rest of my project requires this initial step to be working correctly :S

Asiri

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 17
(8,735 Views)

i have tracked down the error to VISA read on the VI that establishes connection with the OSA and i get error 1073807339 - timeout ... i have used the default timeout value 30000ms and the byte count of 256 that was given with the VIs ... should i change either of the values as suggested by NI? i don't understand why the default values give this error... 

thanks a lot

asiri  

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 17
(8,724 Views)

Hi Asiri,

The identification error is usually generated when you try using an instrument driver that is not designed for the instrument you have.

You should see in the Instrument Open VI that the command *IDN? is sent and the response is then checked. If the response does not match to certain keywords then an error is generated.