From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

Instrument Control (GPIB, Serial, VISA, IVI)

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

communication with a USB RAW Device

Hi everyone, I am new with programming VISA.  As part of my first few tasks, I am learning to establish a USB communication with instruments. From the little research I have done so far, I found that there are two classes of USB devices, the USB INSTR and USB RAW. I have no problem communicating with the USB INSTR device I have got. However, I have not been able to establish a successful communication with my USB RAW device. My first attempt to communicate with this device after installing the driver was by means of the NI MAX. ON querying the device to get its identity, the NI MAX returned an error that reads “VISA: (Hex 0xBFFF0015) Timeout expired before operation completed”.

Can anyone please advise me on what to do to clear this read problem? I have attached a snap shot of the NI MAX window showing the error message.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 11
(5,172 Views)
Why do you think the idn query is supported? Do you have the RAW details from the vendor or are you just making this up?

What sort of usb driver came with the device? There are considerably more usb classes than 2 and creating a RAW driver should be considered a last desperate attempt to communicate and only if the vendor provides the necessary information.
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 11
(5,170 Views)

Thanks for the response. I do not have the RAW information from the device vendor. I was working based on the understanding I had from the literature I read. I understood from that literature that USB devices that are not compatible with USBTMC fall under the USB RAW class.