Instrument Control (GPIB, Serial, VISA, IVI)

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

button value

Dear,

We got a instrument with touch buttons but the display is broken, we cant replace it because its old,

but there is a serial connetor on the machine, i made a connection and i can read the display now in labview,

i can send a command:

on teh machine ther are buttons like calibrate (codeC43) measure (M4D) ... now what i wanna do is make these buttons in labview

and if i touch the button then the command will be send to the instrument,

im very new to labview how can i make suchbuttons with a value assigned to it and when is pushed send it to the

machine?

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 9
(3,471 Views)

The simplest solution would be a while loop in which you have sections with the code from the manual to program the operations via the serial port with serial reads and simply have a true/false case structure around each with the corresponding Boolean value button wired to the true/false terminal on the case structure and have the button's "mechanical action" (in the right click menu of it, but the control on the wire diagram will have to be used instead of a local variable or something like that) set to "latch when released" or of course "latch when pressed" if you prefer and the false case for each being basically empty.  Then the program will essentially wait until a button is pressed, then process your serial port read/write commands and the button state will then be changed back so it doesn't repeat indefinitely.  For functions you want to repeat you just leave the action as "switch when released" or "switch when pressed".  You could create a separate button to terminate the while loop or just hit the stop button for the vi.