Instrument Control (GPIB, Serial, VISA, IVI)

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

another visa error

hello,
i am a novice in labview.
i use labview 7.1 and windows 2000.
i try to realise a communication with the serial port.

first, i want to read data on a first serial port, use this data with a sub-vi, and send this data on a second serial port.
i want to check the first part of my programm, so i didn't connect any device on the com1 and i try to run the vi. a visa error happend: BFFF009E.

so, i decided to run the exemple vi communication serial- labview, and i have the same error.

could you tell me if this error happend because i didn't connect any device to the port, and so how check the good behaving of my programm, or if it is a problem of library which failed, or another problem i didn't think of.

thanks in advance.

regards
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(3,505 Views)
The error says that some VISA-related library could not be loaded. (In general, it's a good idea to post the error description string as well as the code itself.) I can't tell you which library is at fault, though.

You should run MAX and expand Devices&Interfaces. If you see a VISA error node, it should tell you which VISA library couldn't be loaded and what to try to do to fix it. If you don't see a VISA error node, then that means that MAX could load all the VISA libraries but LabVIEW couldn't. That would be odd but it is possible. At least that would help pinpoint the problem a little.

Dan Mondrik
National Instruments
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 7
(3,505 Views)
hi,

thanks for your help, i find the library which failed and load it, and now, i don't have this error anymore.