From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

Instrument Control (GPIB, Serial, VISA, IVI)

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Visa Read returns the framing error (0xBFFF006B).

Hi I am a newbie and I am working on to communcate to a MDB. The Communication Format is as follow:

Baud Rate: 9600 NRZ

Serial Bit Format: 1 Start Bit

8 Data Bits

1 Mode Bit

1 Stop Bit

This is how to send data and read data from the MDB:

00001xxxB (08H)          Changer

Mode    Address      Command

Coin changer reset                          0x108           1         00001            000

Coin changer setup                         0x109           1         00001            001

Coin changer tube status                0x10A           1         00001            010

I read on NI web site to use the parity Mark to set the mode bit. When I try to read data from the MDB I get a  framing error (0xBFFF006B). I also read in another forum to test the Mark using the Measurement and Automation explorer. I try it and still get the error. I am a bit lost on how to communicate to the MDB. I try differrent setup but nothing works. I hope someone could help me on this.

Thanks

JJ

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 10
(6,188 Views)

Hi,

For some modules we have I also have to use an extra bit (9th bit) for the communication.

Sending data you change the parity to mark and space to add a 9th bit. But when you receive the same data (with either mark or space parity) you get a parity error (not a framing error).

You should catch this error and delete it.

I use this to communicate with modules in a test set-up.

Kees

Message 2 of 10
(6,175 Views)

Usually, a framing error is a baud rate issue.  Double check all of your serial settings and verify that the device is using the same.

GCentral