From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

Instrument Control (GPIB, Serial, VISA, IVI)

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

VISA read timeout error--- Keithley 2400

Solved!
Go to solution

I am trying to use LabView 2010 to control a Keithley 2400 Sourcemeter on an RS-232 Interface. I want to configure a measurement and take a reading (e.g. plot voltage vs. time)

I took an example code from the library "Keithley read single", however error 1073807346 pops out from the "Initialize" box. THen i looked into "Initialize. vi" and found there is an error from VISA read (timeout error ?). I have attached both screenshots that shows the errors. Can anyone tell me how to solve the problem? By the way, i am very new to labview, could someone suggest a solution that's not too "advanced"? THanks alot.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 24
(14,926 Views)

Hi Michigan,

Thanks for joining the forums! Smiley Very Happy

- Do you have any other programs which may be using that COM port?

If you do then that could cause this error.  One thing to try is to query the device (from MAX or LabVIEW) with a simple command like *IDN? - if we cannot get a response from this then there could be an issue with your serial port.  Although try sending the command for now, and then we'll work from there.

Regards,

Peter D

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 24
(14,916 Views)

A few possible errors:

1) the serial cable is wrong, you need  "straight through"connection pin 1..1, pin 2..2, pin 3..3 etc.

2) the buadrate is not the same on pc and keithley (or another serial line parameter that I would like to see on the frontpanel of the initialize)

3) the keithley is still configured for GPIB

so try these first mayb by typing *IDN? in hyperterminal and see what coems back