Instrument Control (GPIB, Serial, VISA, IVI)

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

VISA read of serial data issue

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello everyone, I am new to LabView VISA.

My application is to read data from LDR and turn on and off bulb accordingly, the switching of bulbs is to be displayed in LabView. The program runs perfectly in Arduino and I want to indicate the bulb on/off in labview. I am using VISA for displaying the switching of bulbs.

Arduino program:

volatile int glight,Lstate;
void setup()
{
pinMode(5,OUTPUT);
Serial.begin(9600);
}

void loop()
{
glight=analogRead(A0); //ldr sensor
if(glight<140)
{
digitalWrite(5,HIGH);
Lstate=0;
}
else if(150< glight < 300)
{
digitalWrite(5,LOW);
Lstate=1;
}
Serial.print("L");
Serial.print(Lstate);
}

In LabView I sometimes get correct output indicating that the bulb is ON but that occurs only once and after that it does not run(after it executives once it shows error 85 or sometimes 1 but I assure you the connections are tight and correct). Also a point I should mention is that when I run the LabView program(Highlight Execution: ON) on the "Read buffer" from VISA Read the value that gets passed is "L0L0L0" or "L1L1L1" why does it do this? it should only show  L0 or L1. Please Help! 

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(4,215 Views)

In your Arduino code, use "Serial.println(Lstate);".  The println adds a termination character to the end of the message.  Since you already have VISA configured to use the termination character, you might as well send it.  This will limit the read to just your single message instead of all of the messages up to 2000 characters.

From what I am seeing, you should also remove the VISA Write from the LabVIEW code.  I do not see where your Arduino is reading it, so that part is worthless.

And finally, you might want to add a wait of some sort to your Arduino loop so you can have more deterministic message rates.

GCentral