From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

Instrument Control (GPIB, Serial, VISA, IVI)

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

VISA-How to make real time graph in LabView 2013 from incoming data through serial port

I am new to LabView 2013.

I made hardware for collecting data from deivce using serial port.

My requirements are:

I want to make real time graph of incoming data from hardware through serial port in pc.

Now experts please help what are necessary things are required to make real time graph of incoming data coming via serial port to pc in Labview 2013.

What are the components are required in LabView to do such project.?????

Please provide me complete information because I am new in LabView 2013

Waiting for your response.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 8
(5,125 Views)
Start with one of the shipping examples for serial communication. Since you have not provided any details on the instrument you are trying to communicate with, it is impossible to say what else you might need. If this is a commercial instrument, see if there is an existing driver by going to Help> Find Instrument Drivers.

Actually, before doing anything in LabVIEW, test the communication with a terminal emulation program such as hyperterminal, putty, or the VISA test panels in MAX.
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 8
(5,119 Views)

The harware made by myself which is 8051 controller that convert the number of bits that run seven segment display to ASCI which is compatible as our compter data.

Now please tell me after connection to labview, in order to make real time graph of incoming data from instrument what are the main componets require to make real time graph of incoming data in labview

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 8
(5,116 Views)