Instrument Control (GPIB, Serial, VISA, IVI)

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

USB-232 slow under Windows 10

I have a Labwindows/CVI 2016 application that communicates with a bunch of Eurotherm temperature controllers via RS-232 using a NI USB-232. I have been running it for several months under Windows 7 and it goes through and queries all the Eurotherms in 1.6 seconds, consistently. When I switch over to a Windows 10 computer this query time is very erratic, sometimes it might take 1.6 sec. but most times is in the 4 to 5 second range. I have the same version of the drivers on both computers (NI-Serial 15.0) and I'm using the native calls: OpenComConfig, ComRd, etc.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 5
(4,425 Views)

Hi PSevilla,

What differences besides operating system are you aware of between the computers? I'm interested in hardware specifications (number of CPU cores, etc.) All the operating systems, development environments and drivers are compatible, so there shouldn't be too much of a difference in performance. Is the 1.6 second timing a result of explicit timing in the code or is that just as fast as it will run? If you're not explicitly timing the code, it sounds like the difference could be due to jitter. If anything else is running on the Windows 10 machine, extra processes could be contributing to the extra delay. Windows 10 is a non-deterministic operating system so there's not much you could do to eliminate jitter besides stopping as many background processes as you can. 

You may also find some useful information by running I/O trace during the process when it's running on Windows 7 and on Windows 10, to make sure the DLL calls are the same.You can run an IO trace by following the instructions on the linked document:

Performing a Good NI I/O Trace Capture for Debugging/Troubleshooting

http://digital.ni.com/public.nsf/allkb/282C5D41E2BA04F2862574BA007803B9

Austin
Staff Software Engineer
NI
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 5
(4,366 Views)