From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

Instrument Control (GPIB, Serial, VISA, IVI)

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Timetravel with r3131 and GPIB-enet 100

Uh, new to this forum, all the topics seem way to specific for my question.

I am a TV technician, and today my boss told me to go future proof the spectrum computers.  Turns out this is a windows 2000 machine running custom software to talk to 2 Advantest r3131 analyzers via a GPIB-enet 100.

The custom software seems to be using data from an .ini to send parameters to the analyzer, and then outputting a trace (4 actually, but now we only need 2) on the computer.  However, if i just run the .exe on another machine it complains about "initialize.vi->NameOfProgram.vi" and talking about missing components.  The way i am guessing at this is it is missing some sort of library?  probably this library would be installed with the program (15 years ago and then we threw away the disk...). i have tried installing any drivers i could find, including for the gpib device, but these are for win7 on a win 7 machine. is that why it can't find what it is looking for?

Fine. Great. Someone was very clever 15 years ago.  If, Today, i want to show the trace on my screen, and i have a r3131 and a GPIB-enet 100, can i do this simply? Or do i need to re-write our custom software (i cannot do this, i am Waaay to dumb).

What would you guys do if you wanted to use my equipment to see a trace on a windows computer?  The program used to make it show 3 traces from one machine, but i dont even need that, really just need to show the current trace and i can set all my parameters on the analyzer with my fingers.