Instrument Control (GPIB, Serial, VISA, IVI)

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Serial Communication with multiple temp controllers

Hello,

I’m trying to read the process value from 7 Omron E5CK temp controllers.  I’m new to LabView especially working with serial communication.  The VI.  I created does work but it’s horribly slow, I can only imagine that there is an easier way to read the values.  Basically I just copied the “Read Proccess Value VI” seven times and tossed in a waveform chart and a write to file.  Ideally I would like to take one sample of the values every 30 min. and write to an excel spread sheet.  I’m measuring values of multiple large water tanks that change temp very slowly so speed is not a concern I just want to create a reliable VI that can run for days at a time.  There has got to be a more efficient way of doing this.  Eventually I would like to expand to 14 controllers.  The Controllers can work with RS-232C and RS-485 communication.  Any help or tips on cleaning up my VI would be greatly appreciated. 

Thank you for your help.

Chad

Process Value 7 Controllers.jpg

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 29
(5,395 Views)
It makes no sense to have several parallel loops with all of that duplicate code. You have a single serial port so you can only communicate to one device at a time. Just create an array of commands and pass it into a for loop. Get rid of the evil dynamic data and the local variable. Do not use the delay function for anything more than a couple 100ms.

Where are you configuring the serial port? I don't see that in the image.
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 29
(5,360 Views)