Instrument Control (GPIB, Serial, VISA, IVI)

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Reading from sensor to LabView via rs232 or subVI problem

Solved!
Go to solution

I'm quite new to LabView and not too experienced with instrument control so I was wondering if someone could help me solve my problem?

Currently, I'm using 2011 LabView and am trying to read pressures from Pfeiffer's DualGauge pressure sensor (TPG 262) and display the two pressure readings on LabView.  However, when I run my program, the pressure readings are not displayed-- all that is displayed are the default 0.00mBar pressure reading even though the DualGauge sensor's screen displays a reading.  To connect the sensor, I'm using a RS232 cable and have been successful in finding the device on my Device Manager, so I don't think the connection is the problem (I've also seen the port show up in Device Manager when I connected the sensor via RS232 and USB into my computer).  I'm also using Pfeiffer's subVI's in my code, and I suspect that the problem may be in there. 

Attached is my code and here are the links to the DualGauge manual and LabView software driver from Pfeiffer

Dual Gauge Manual-- Pg. 23 and 68 are probably the only things related to the RS232 connection. 

http://www.idealvac.com/files/brochures/Pfeiffer_TPG262_Operating_Instructions.pdf

Pfeiffer's DualGauge LabView driver-- Software Dual Gauge LabView Driver 2009

http://www.pfeiffer-vacuum.com/products/measurement/activeline/measurement-equipment/onlinecatalog.a...

Any help is great appreciated!

-Candice

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(10,045 Views)

Wow.  Those are some horrible looking drivers you go there.  But in general, we can probably assume that they actually work.