Instrument Control (GPIB, Serial, VISA, IVI)

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Reading data from external pc

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi guys, I'm kinda new to the NI instruments, and I need to figure out how to read data from a PXI-1042Q, which has a PXI-8187 as an embedded controller, and an array of PXI-4472. I need to read the data from an external computer via one of the serial ports of the PXI-8187 using a home-made program in python. I've found something on how to send and retrieve data from a serial port using pyVisa, still I don't know how to communicate with the PXI-8187 and how to select the proper input from the PXI-4472. Do I need to create a custom VI on the PXI-8187 to make it listen for inputs via serial and to send the output data to the same port? Any suggestion will be appreciated.

Thanks in advance!

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(5,200 Views)

You need to create a program that goes into the embedded controller.  That controller needs to do all of the data acquisition, any other processing you want it to do, and then send it out of the serial port.  The format you use to send the data through the serial port is completely up to you.

What language did you plan to use in the controller?  LabVIEW?  C++/C#?

GCentral
There are only two ways to tell somebody thanks: Kudos and Marked Solutions
Unofficial Forum Rules and Guidelines
"Not that we are sufficient in ourselves to claim anything as coming from us, but our sufficiency is from God" - 2 Corinthians 3:5
Message 2 of 7
(5,192 Views)

I think I'll use LabVIEW in the controller, even if I need to figure out how to pass the "start acquiring" and then pass the results out to serial. For the moment, using LabVIEW, I'm able to read an accelerometer, and graph the results. But I guess it will be easier than I actually think 😄

What I'm trying to achieve is:

1) Use a python script to setup the test (done)

2) Trigger an impactor with python (done)