NI Home > Community > NI Discussion Forums

Instrument Control (GPIB, Serial, VISA, IVI)

Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
ssett
0 Kudos

Reading data from Mitutoyo Digimatic Indicator and Chatillon Force Gage.

Hello,

I am a beginner-intermediate LV user and I want to read data from a mitutoyo digimatic indicator via a RS-232 to USB converter on to a laptop installed with LV 8.0. I am encountering problems finding the correct instrument drivers ( I have found one from Mitutoyo (mitmig4), but it seems like it's for intermediate hardware). I also want to read in data from a Chatillon Force Gage also via RS-232/USB converter. There seems to be no drivers for this and it looks like I may have to tinker with the existing LV 8.0 properties to recognize the force gage. My main questions are: how can I setup the input for the digimatic indicator with the correct drivers and what sort of VI's can I use to make my laptop recognize the Chatillon device? Thank you in advance.

-ssett

Trusted Enthusiast
Trusted Enthusiast
0 Kudos

Re: Reading data from Mitutoyo Digimatic Indicator and Chatillon Force Gage.

[ Edited ]

Get the programming manual for these instruments and find out what are their RS232 command sets.

Knight of NI
Dennis_Knutson
0 Kudos

There are no VIs that will recognize a serial instrument. If the com ports are shown in MAX, then that is all that you need in order to start programming. I would suggest using a third-party terminal emulation program such a Hyperterminal, Procomm, etc before trying any LabVIEW code.

Trusted Enthusiast
Henrik_Volkers
0 Kudos

Some of these devices need a 'special' type of rs232 connection. I remember building a set of connector cables that needed a 10k pullup resistor and some handshaking lines hardwired.

Additionally the RTS line needed to be set to supply the open collector Tx of the gage .... wasn't well documented , they wanted to sell the adaptor :smileywink: