Instrument Control (GPIB, Serial, VISA, IVI)

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Reading data from Mitutoyo Digimatic Indicator and Chatillon Force Gage.

Hello,

I am a beginner-intermediate LV user and I want to read data from a mitutoyo digimatic indicator via a RS-232 to USB converter on to a laptop installed with LV 8.0. I am encountering problems finding the correct instrument drivers ( I have found one from Mitutoyo (mitmig4), but it seems like it's for intermediate hardware). I also want to read in data from a Chatillon Force Gage also via RS-232/USB converter. There seems to be no drivers for this and it looks like I may have to tinker with the existing LV 8.0 properties to recognize the force gage. My main questions are: how can I setup the input for the digimatic indicator with the correct drivers and what sort of VI's can I use to make my laptop recognize the Chatillon device? Thank you in advance.

-ssett

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 9
(7,652 Views)

Get the programming manual for these instruments and find out what are their RS232 command sets.

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 9
(7,650 Views)

There are no VIs that will recognize a serial instrument. If the com ports are shown in MAX, then that is all that you need in order to start programming. I would suggest using a third-party terminal emulation program such a Hyperterminal, Procomm, etc before trying any LabVIEW code.

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 9
(7,644 Views)

Some of these devices need a 'special' type of rs232 connection. I remember building a set of connector cables that needed a 10k pullup resistor and some handshaking lines hardwired.

Additionally the RTS line needed to be set to supply the open collector Tx of the gage .... wasn't well documented , they wanted to sell the adaptor 😉