Instrument Control (GPIB, Serial, VISA, IVI)

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

RS 232 Communication Initialization

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello everyone, 

my name is Carl and I have a problem communicating with a Mass Flow Controller. Before developing a more advanced program I wanted to check the communication and how this works ( I'm new to LabView, only had Matlab and Scala so far ).

As my simple VI is not working I checked if a very simple RS232 communication tool would work (Termite 3.2). It does with the following settings: (IMG_1868)

Very important was the Append CR setting. Then I tried to adapt the settings to my VI. But somehow I think I got the Append CR setting wrong. It is a termination char setting and 13 is the decimal corresponding to carriage return according to different tables I've found in the internet. 

My VI is sending a text command and reading the answer every second. The LED shows if there is something read. 

As the communication is working with the termite tool it has to be a problem with my VI and the VISA settings. 

Thank you very much for you help!

Carl

Download All
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(4,167 Views)

In the "Visa Configure Serial Port" detailed help, it mentions that the 'termination char' for message strings that terminate with a carriage return should have the 'termination char' set to "0xD". Change your code from 13 to 0xD and see if that works.

Andrew B.
Application Engineer
National Instruments.
http://www.ni.com/support
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 7
(4,163 Views)

Thanks for the fast answer, I tried this already, but the input for termination char only takes decimals between 0 and 255 as an input. Thats why i tried the 13 as an input for carriage return.

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 7
(4,161 Views)

Have you attempted to communicate with the device in NI MAX using the VISA Test Panels? Also, I'm assuming that you already installed NI-VISA drivers?

Andrew B.
Application Engineer
National Instruments.