Instrument Control (GPIB, Serial, VISA, IVI)

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Keithey 2400 troubleshooting

Solved!
Go to solution

Hey guys. I'm having trouble getting Keithley 2400 to communicate with LabView.

I already have Keithley 6220 running in the setup, so I tried just copying and pasting the code for it (not written by me, but it works just fine) and just changing the GPIB address, but that didn't work. I kept getting errors -113 unidentified header, and -102 syntax error.

Then, I wrote a simple program that would just turn Keithley 2400 on and source some current. See pic #1.

It still gives error -113, then -102, then turns on, but doesn't source current and "Compliance voltage" is flashing:(

I'm very new to this, so I'm not sure what I'm doing wrong.

I installed the new Visa driver for it and tried running programs provided by Keithley, but those also don't work. See pic #2.

Any help is greatly appreciated.

Download All
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 13
(6,967 Views)

The 2400 series can source voltage or currnt.  The 6220 is a current source.  So they are two totally different instruments.

I would recommend getting the LabVIEW drivers that are available (http://sine.ni.com/apps/utf8/niid_web_display.download_page?p_id_guid=25B255F3AA83660EE0440003BA7CCD...).

GCentral
There are only two ways to tell somebody thanks: Kudos and Marked Solutions
Unofficial Forum Rules and Guidelines
"Not that we are sufficient in ourselves to claim anything as coming from us, but our sufficiency is from God" - 2 Corinthians 3:5
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 13
(6,957 Views)

Why not use the k24xx driver available via IDnet (ni driver opages) on the keithley website.

greetings from the Netherlands
0 Kudos
Message 3 of 13
(6,950 Views)

That is the driver that I used. I have LabView 2011 on that computer tho. Do you think drivers for LabView 2010 or 2012 would work cuz I think I got one of those.