Instrument Control (GPIB, Serial, VISA, IVI)

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to write a driver for custom hardware on a digital port

Hi,
I am a complete newbie to LabView and so I hope that someone can hint me to the information I need.
At the moment, I am completely lost.

I have the CVS-1454 which has a digital I/O port.
Now I want to plug a custom made converter on this port to convert the digital port into 4 RS232 ports.

The hardware is not the problem, but how do I write a driver for my box?

Is there some kind of tutorial on writing drivers available?

All I found in the official documentation was that you can write your own drivers, but the link to the page which should give more information was invalid 😞

Thank you for reading and have a nice day,
FReAK
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(3,692 Views)
The tutorials and help on creating drivers is for LabVIEW Instrument Drivers. There are several links here on what an instrument driver is and how to develop one. I don't think that's what you're looking for though. Is the intent to make the digital I/O appear to the system as regular com ports (i.e. com1, com2) and emulating all of the functions such as baud rate, handshaking, etc.? Or are you looking to embed some software in your custom converter?
Message 2 of 7
(3,692 Views)
Thank you for the link, I will have a good look on the pages there even if I think I have searched them already. But maybe I have missed something.

The intent is to have a stupid piece of hardware and to put all the timing logic etc. in the driver.

At the end the digital I/O (with the converter) should appear to the system as regular com ports.
0 Kudos
Message 3 of 7
(3,692 Views)