Instrument Control (GPIB, Serial, VISA, IVI)

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to start serial communication?

Hi ! This issue has been up so many times, but as a newbie I can´t fully relate earlier threads to my problem!

It is pretty basic I guess;

I would like to send some data seriel to a PC using labview. The labview interface should consist of 8 different fields where I can display my "read" data. So there must be some kind of function for separating the datastream coming in in high speed. Also, sending data back to the microcontroll from the interface in labview, not with so much dataspeed requirements.

I will be sending the 16-bits of data from a microcontroller in 2 8-bit pieces to one text field, then 2 more 8-bit pieces to next field etc. until I have done 8 fields. I will be receiving data on a USB unit but the computer looks at this one as a COM port, so I guess serial comm. is the way to go??

So I am wondering; can this be done using something like bytecounter or something? How about little and big endian?
Any examples in labview that one can look at? Do I have to write DLL´s?? Is it okay to send it binary in 2 complements form?? Many questions...

Greatly appreciate any advice and how to start this little project. I need this fairly quickly for displaying my values and verifying it. The only way I have been displaying this data so far is in a terminal program and it comes out right but with a printf function which is way to slow.

Many kind regards
B
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 2
(2,925 Views)
Beagle,

your Qs are quite unspecific. So my answers will be similar. Here it goes:
> ... the datastream coming in in high speed ...
What does this mean? LabVIEW and VISa can handle baud rates with up to 230 kbaud or even more. These high baud rates are not too easy to handle in the pure cabling point of view. I mean, you need short cables of good quality.
230 kbaud results in about 23kB/s or 0,68ms for your 16 bytes to receive.