Instrument Control (GPIB, Serial, VISA, IVI)

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to obtain measurements from multiple identical instruments in parallel

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi,

I have 3 transducers connected in a RS-485 multi-drop network using a USB to serial converter. I would like to be able to obtain measurements from these transducers quickly (upwards of 50 Hz) and with each individual measurement having minimal time difference from the others.

Currently I am using the timed loop structure with a sequence inside to write a query to each instrument, and then another timed loop with a sequence inside to read the responses. This works but is terribly slow and currently only talks to two transducers.

I am new to labview (and these kinds of problems in general) but if anyone can offer some ideas of how to better approach this problem, I would be extremely grateful!

Thanks in advance.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 6
(3,120 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author jm22b

Since it is the same RS-485 drop, you can only talk to 1 at a time.  So you just loop through which one you are talk with.

1. Timed Loops add way more overhead and other weird things that they are basically useless in Windows systems.  Just use a normal While loop and a Wait.

2. Use a FOR loop to loop through your instrument addresses to build up your commands.

3. Since you are using a Command-Response mechanism, do a write followed by a read.  This eliminates the need for the second loop.

4. To make things even easier on you, you can build up the commands before you start the communications.

GCentral
There are only two ways to tell somebody thanks: Kudos and Marked Solutions
Unofficial Forum Rules and Guidelines
"Not that we are sufficient in ourselves to claim anything as coming from us, but our sufficiency is from God" - 2 Corinthians 3:5
Message 2 of 6
(3,092 Views)

Hi

Which transducer are you using and where can I find the low level vi's you use?