From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

Instrument Control (GPIB, Serial, VISA, IVI)

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to add a save button on front panel for saved waveform data

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi, I am kind of new to LabVIEW and I have been working on a code for an agilent oscilloscope to communicate via GPIB and so far this runs smoothly on gathering both analog channels one by one, "Not simoultaneously" but it does the trick (vpp,vrms, frequency...etc.).  I added feature to add waveform data to a .csv file (Problem: a dialog box opens before user gathers all data. Solution:  I want the user to save the .CSV file whenever he wants to for future reference on front panel). I added another feature to get a snapshot of the waveform graph (Problem: a dialog box opens. Solution: I want the user to save the JPEG file whenever he wants to take a snapshot ("take snapshot" button on front panel)).  I am working with hp54645d agilent driver. I have attached my code, if someone can please tell me how I need to do this (maybe wiring and structures are solutions don't know). Thank You in Advance.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 4
(4,797 Views)

You have several different options. The first one I would try is to pull the save VI's out of the case structure. This will ensure that all the data is passed out of the case structure before either save operation is performed. If you want to save on demand you will need to add a while or for loop so that your program loops repeatedly. Then you can include your save VI's in a case structure and allow the user to click a button that will enter the case into a true and then in the true case have the save VI's. Those would be the two ideas I would try. 

Matt P.
Applications Engineer
National Instruments