From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

Instrument Control (GPIB, Serial, VISA, IVI)

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Getting EABO timeout error with Tektronix Scope

I am a student working on a project for Institute of Plasma Research India
to develop an application in C using Borland C/c++ 4.0 Builder for data acquisition from a Tektronix TDS540D oscilloscope.
I Am using windows98 as my OS
I have Made this rudimentary program to begin with adapted from an example file.

#include
#include
#include

void main() {

int osc,i;
char reading[30];

if ((osc = ibdev(0, 1, 0, T10s, 1, 0)) < 0)
report_error(osc,"Could not open Oscilloscope");

ibwrt(dmm, "*IDN?", 13L);
if (ibsta & ERR)
report_error(osc,"Could not initialize Oscilloscope");

ibrd(osc, reading, 20L);
if (ibsta & ERR)
report_error(osc, "Could not read data from oscilloscope");

reading[ibcnt] = '\0';

printf("Data read: %s\n", reading);

/*Request voltage Reading*/

ibwrt(dmm, "VOLTS?", 6L);
if (ibsta & ERR)
report_error(osc, "Could not trigger oscilloscope");

ibrd(osc, reading, 20L);
if (ibsta & ERR)
report_error(osc, "Could not read");

reading[ibcnt] = '\0';

printf("Data read: %s\n", reading);

ibonl(osc, 0);
}

report_error(int fd, char *errmsg) {

fprintf(stderr, "Error %d: %s\n", iberr, errmsg);
if (fd != -1) {
printf("Cleanup: taking board off-line\n");
ibonl(fd,0);
}
exit(1); /* abort program */
}

After the execution of the program by manually linking this to Borlandc_gpib32.obj file The scope gives the correct information regarding its identification.
However when it comes to the part for taking a reading , i get a EABO error citing time out operations.