From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

Instrument Control (GPIB, Serial, VISA, IVI)

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

GPIB beginner Require control and monitor of Laser Diode Driver via GPIB

Hi - I am a university student in the UK and have got to do an experiment where I need to link my pc to my laser diode driver to control it and also feedback useful data (photo diode current etc).

I am using Labview 7.1, Windows XP Pro, and the GPIB-B interface to link the PC to the laser driver.

I am really stuck as I cannot see how to get Labview to be able to change a parameter, whilst at the same time retrieve the data and store this in a plotable form. If someone can knock up a VI or point me in the correct direction, I would be eternally grateful.

Many thanks

Will
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 6
(3,588 Views)
Need a bit more information from you.
1). Does the instrument show up in MAX when you do a scan for instruments?
2). Can you communicate with it in MAX?
3). Who makes the laser diode driver?
4). Is there a LabVIEW instrument driver available for it?
5). Are you using VISA Read/Write or GPIB Read/Write?
6). What error codes or messages are you getting?

Questions 1 and 2 are the most important. If nothing shows in MAX, then you won't be able to communicate. If sending commands in MAX doesn't work, you may have the syntax incorrect. Once you can get communication in MAX to work, you should try the shipping example called LabVIEW<->GPIB or the Instrument I/O Assistant.
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 6
(3,586 Views)

@Dennis Knutson wrote:
Need a bit more information from you.
1). Does the instrument show up in MAX when you do a scan for instruments?
2). Can you communicate with it in MAX?
3). Who makes the laser diode driver?