Instrument Control (GPIB, Serial, VISA, IVI)

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Controlling ProScan III X-Y stage with LabView

Hi there,

I'm new to LabView and this forum, please excuse me for asking sily questions!

I am on a project trying to use LabView for automation PRIOR ProScan III x-y stage to allow Gel mapping.

The stage is connected with the computer with USB COM 5.

I have tried to use SERIAL PORT with specified parametres

Untitled.jpgIt is still not complete, I was just attempting to be able to establish some sort of controls . But it doesn't work.

I kind of followed what my collegue has previously done with a actuator control , and PX GX is what I found in the ProScan Mannual as commands (later I have realised it is the command in the Prior Terminal.

I have tried to use code provided in the PRIOR terminal, it all works, so I don't think the connection is a problem. 

Also I have found some sample LabView programme from PRIOR website

Screen Shot 2016-07-05 at 17.04.04.png

I sort of understood that it is an Invoke node, but I have no idea how this will allow me to connect with the stage. How do I get the reference input?

I've been so confused and frustrated with this recently, thus dicided to ask in the forum. Any help will be appriciated.

Thank you very much

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 3
(4,559 Views)

Hi there,

Have you tried communicating with your device using Hyperterminal/Brays Terminal, just to ensure that it does work outside of LabVIEW? Your code that you've supplied there isn't very clear on what you are communicating to the device and what you are looking to get back from it, so if you could elaborate that would be very helpful.

Best Regards,

James Kent

James Kent | Applications Engineer | National Instruments UK & Ireland
w: uk.ni.com | ireland.ni.com
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 3
(4,520 Views)

Hi  there, 

Thanks for your reply.