Instrument Control (GPIB, Serial, VISA, IVI)

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Control Consort EV232 power supply via RS-232

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello there,

I'm completely new to the world of Labview. I've started an internship yesterday in a protein engineering lab and my first duty is to create a Labview interface that enables us to control a power supply (namely Consort EV232) for an electrophoresis application. The power supply is connected to a MOXA multiport serial board via RS-232, which is in turn connected to the PC.

Like I said, I'm completely new to Labview, having only done some really basic programming in class. I've never had the occasion to touch any hardware and am completely at a loss at how to tell the PC or Labview to connect to the power supply and I haven't found any driver that fits the power supply. I'm aware that this is a really basic question, please bear in mind that I really don't know where to start.

Have a nice day.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 28
(6,028 Views)
I would suggest that you first use a program such as hyperterminal, putty, or the test panel in MAX. This will allow you to verify the port settings and the cable you are using. Use the commands in the programming manual with the correct termination character. There are some serial examples that come with LabVIIEW that you can then use as a base for writing your own code. If you get stuck, attach the programming manual along with your code.
Message 2 of 28
(5,996 Views)