Instrument Control (GPIB, Serial, VISA, IVI)

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Can I write to memory address(8051) using labview?

Hi! I'm new in the Labview world, so I am not sure what I can do or can't do with it yet.

1) I'll like to know if anyone has tried to write to memory locations on an 8051 microprocessor using Labview?

2) I'm using rs232 to receive my data but when I save it on a file all I get is ASCII. If I display
it on an indicator window I have the choice to display it in hex. Do I have the same choice when I save it on to a file?

Thanks to those of you who will take the time to reply.
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 9
(4,473 Views)
Lacver,

1) I've never used a 8051 microprocessor, but the answer to this question really depends on how it is connected to your PC.

2) This KnowledgeBase should answer your second question.

Shawn B.
National Instruments
Use NI products on Linux? Come join the NI Linux Users Community
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 9
(4,445 Views)
Thanks Shawn! I will give it a try and I appreciate you replying.
As for my second problem; I would like to use either serial communication or any best suggestion to try to write/read
the memory on an 8051. Has anything like that being attempted before or am I talking none-sense?

Thanks,

lacver
0 Kudos
Message 3 of 9
(4,441 Views)
Lacver,

If your microprocessor has a serial port you can communicate with that port in LabVIEW, and send it the data it will understand. Since I'm not familiar with the 8051 I'm not sure what kind of data you would have to write/read from your serial port to be able to read or write to its memory.

Basically in LabVIEW you can write/read bytes to your serial port, just like you could with any other programming language, so if it is possible to read and write to your 8051's memory through a serial port you can do it from LabVIEW. You just need to know what kind of data your 8051 is expecting and how it should be formatted.

Shawn B.