From 04:00 PM CDT – 08:00 PM CDT (09:00 PM UTC – 01:00 AM UTC) Tuesday, April 16, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

Industrial Communications

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

problems writing to network published shared variable hosted on rt (set as modbus slave for crio)

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello Ni Forums

This is my first post on this forum and I have been using labview for about 8 months now

I have a problem regarding writing data to modbus registers through an i/o server set as a modbus slave for my 9074 hardware.After I have completed building project and deploying the variables and following instructions from here , it yields no result but a line zeros. I have the Ni DSM open and modbus master setup to see whether the data is actually being read/written from the respective sides which both yield the same line of zeros as well.  What I am actually trying to write to is an array of single precision floating data. The registers are structured from ranges F40000-F46534 for 10 elements or have them for range AF40001L1-AF46534L1 of item AF40001L10 where it is an array of length 10. (Referenced ranges here)

I know 1 thing for sure, the modbus connection works and is ready for data requests, I tested this through NI DSM and manually set data for and my master received them . 

System and Project specifications

Windows 7 OS

Labview Full Development System 2011

No Labview DSC module but I am using the real time module as referenced by one of the documents

This project is a real time application with fpga mode (not scan interface mode)

The master and slave are the same subnet and network

Modbus Connection Type: TCP

9074 compact rio 8 slots

9234 module x3 

9221 module x1

9472 module x1

Shared Variable Engine service running on windows os and rtos system