Industrial Communications

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

labview dsc conerting Modicon Real number into Single Precision problem

I am just starting to learn about the DSC module in Labview. I created an IO server that is monitoring two inputs on a Modicon Quantum PLC for testing concepts. One input is a simple boolean the othe is an analog Vin that is being scaled to a real number in the Modicon. I created a small vi to monitor the values of the shared variables.

The IO server is working. I I can see the boolean value change states as I toggle a switch and I can see numbers on the analog display in the vi BUT the numbers aren't correct. Instead of displaying a 0 to 10 volt range I am getting HUGE values i.e. 5.66528000236e+31.

Having experience communicating through Labview this very same Modicon I know what the issue is.

The analog data is stored at two register addresses in the PLC 400001 and 400002. in the shared variable engine I set the address to F400001 to read the two registers which when displayed give me the wrong numbers so I then created two ne variables to read 400001 and 400002 seperatly and put them into a subVi that we have used in another application that converts two integers into a floating point number. With 400001 being the low integer and 002 being the hi integer the value on my little vi reads correctly. when I swap the inputs the display reads the same as the F400001...huge.

So my question is... does anybody know whats going on? I would like to be able to just read the data straight from the PLC without having to install my conversion vi.

Alan

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 6
(5,084 Views)

Hello Alan_W,