From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

Industrial Communications

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

NI EIP Toolkit and SMC EX600

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi all,

I'm very new to communicating via Ethernet/IP and I've been given the task of integrating an SMC EX600 Ethernet/IP fieldbus module into a labview system. Currently the EX600 is attached to 2 SMC 8 pos. digital input modules and 10 SMC solenoids.  

I've done some searching on here, and it seems I've gotten myself slightly confused about the capabilities of a Communication Adapter and Communication Scanner. From what I've read, the EIP toolkit is an adapter, so it can not initiate I/O communications between other adapters. Turns out the SMC EX600 is also an adapter per pg 29 of the data sheet (http://www.smcworld.com/upfiles/manual/e/EXxx-OMN0032.pdf), bummer. So am I right in assuming that Implicit messaging is out of the question?

This could be ok with me, as I don't need a constant stream of I/O and I'd rather communicate with the EX600 on a point to point basis. Reading through some posts I found that explicit messaging is supported (http://forums.ni.com/t5/Industrial-Communications/SMC-Valve-Ethernet-IP-Communication/td-p/2979621). This means that I can still get the status of an digital input port or set the position of a solenoid, correct?

Reading through the data sheet, I'm at a dead end on how I would actually read digital inputs or set solenoid states using explicit messaging. Could someone clear this up for me? Thanks. 

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 19
(12,819 Views)
Solution
Accepted by dankaroll

Quick update,