Industrial Communications

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Mapping PDO IDs to a CAN message

Hi.

I am currently a student software engineer and I am 3 months into my placement, so I am new to CAN. I now need to learn CANopen and others have no knowledge of this.

My project consists of using the CAN bus to transmit and receive data from a CANopen device that controls/reads digital I/Os and Analog inputs.

I currently have a CAN database with three CAN messages, a can message for Digital Inputs, one message for Digital Outputs and another message for Analog Inputs.

In each of these messages I have a single signal to control/read each channel within the I/O modules.

The CANopen deivce I am using is: http://www.icpdas.com/root/product/solutions/industrial_communication/fieldbus/canopen/io_module/can...

This company supplies a software tool that configures this device. When I configured the device it generated TxPDOs and RxPDOs with indexes and sub-indexes. I dont understand this at all, and I have been reading 3 different manuals to help me understand this, but still no luck.

I have attached a document with all the information(indexes etc) that the software tool generated. When you see the numbers:

- 87057 (Digital Output module)

-87056 (Digital input module)

-87017 (Analog Input module)

these are the names of my I/O modules that slot into the CANopen hardware chassis.

Note: I have 2 87057 modules.

So to conclude, I need to identify which ID to use as the message ID in the CAN database. Also, which bytes in the data field represent which signals etc.

I have read the arbitration ID should be used for the message ID, if so how do I find this ID?

I thank you all in advance.

Regads,

JD

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 2
(3,845 Views)

Hi JD_1995

This forum is mostly related to questions about using National Instruments Industrial Communications Products for which some of them support CANopen.