From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

Industrial Communications

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Compact RIO EtherNet/IP Industrial Communication Data Packaging

Hello,

I’m new to the Industrial Communications for EtherNet/IP module and quite a few questions. I am using a Compact RIO 9074 I first configured the Compact RIO’s Ethernet Adapter eth1 port to TCP/IP Network and entered the static IP address to the same subnet as the Fanuc LR. This was then saved and deployed to the Compact RIO. I then implemented the VI for the Access Assembly Instance Data through Explicit Messages, built the application and deployed it to the Compact Rio. This VI was run and the system shows that its making a connection, however, it’s still not able to communicate.

In the example, there are two arrays, the Data Received, and Data to Set. I want to know if there’s a certain way of configuring the Data to Set to a scanner.

Thank you.

Thomas

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 22
(10,428 Views)

Hi Thomas, 

I think I have a few other posts that explain this in more detail, but we don't support scanner functionality for Assemblies or Implicit communication. We do for explicit. 

Having screenshots of you labview VIs and the Fanuc programming environment would help. 

Jesse Dennis
Engineer
INTP
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 22
(10,426 Views)

Hi Jesse

Thanks for the reply. May I ask what's the difference between explicit and implicit? The LabVIEW VI is the AccessAssemblyInstanceDate (Explicit) VI. I'm going to presume that this will enable me to use the compact rio as a scanner, if I implement this VI? 

The configuration is shown in the attachment. 

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 22
(10,420 Views)