Industrial Communications

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Building a VI with Ethernet/IP to AB ControlLogix

Hello, I am very new to Labview, but have been doing industrial controls for 11 years.  I am no stranger to these systems, but have a project where I am creating an HMI using Labview.  I am using 2015 with the Ethernet/IP driver.  It includes the examples for reading/writing to a SLC500 and to a ControlLogix and I was able to get those samples to work, but for starters, I want to create a single pushbutton (NOT an array) and I am already having trouble doing that.  If I create a boolean pushbutton, I have to make it an array to work with the BOOL Ethernet/IP object, and it would be tacky for me to leave that on the VI when we won't be using it.  Otherwise, it gives me an error.  I tried to go into the BOOL object and modify it under the block diagram, but the block editor for the BOOL object is password protected.  (Why would this be for a piece of software we paid for?)

Anyway, some pointers would be wonderful, or even a tutorial would be great (which I have not been able to find).  I would even take some samples if anyone has some they want to share.  

Thanks in advance.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 2
(3,997 Views)

Hi phuz,

I believe you are more familiar with the EtherNet/IP protocol than me. I mean 11 years, wow! So I won't try to look at this problem from protocol's point of view.

If I did not understand your problem wrong, is it the thing that bothers you that you want to show only one pushbutton when you have to define a array to interface with the API, actually you can change the display to only one button even if you have defined a array. Below are two same bit data array input of the "EthernetIP SLC500 Write VI". But you can display it as a single button through settings.

2016-03-07 17_25_20-Write And Read Data (SLC500).vi Front Panel on EtherNetIP Adapter.lvproj_My Comp.png