From 04:00 PM CDT – 08:00 PM CDT (09:00 PM UTC – 01:00 AM UTC) Tuesday, April 16, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

High-Speed Digitizers

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to simulate testing of PCI 5114 high speed digitizer

I want to use PCI 5114 board and want to interface it with LABVIEW 6.0 using  NISCOPE VIs. I am a beginner to NISCOPE digitizer. I want to test my small application made for 5114. I don't have 5114 at present. Kindly tell me how can I simulate this boards and its input and Ext trigger.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(5,671 Views)

Depending on the version of the NI-SCOPE driver, there are two methods for creating a simulated device.  The instructions for both are located here:

http://digital.ni.com/public.nsf/allkb/772B1286D08FE7DC8625710700757E14

Please note that when simulating a device, the analog input is simply a simulated sine wave.  External triggering will not work since there is no physical system for connecting it.  Since the input signal is simulated, you can do Analog Edge triggering which will allow the simulated device to trigger from the simulated signal.

I hope this helps!

Regards,

Nathan

Systems Engineer
SISU
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 7
(5,649 Views)

Thanks Mr. Nathan.

I could do as you had suggested. Even it was working with simple initialize VI i.e without using Initialize Vi with options.

One more add-on query. Is it possible to fix the frequency of the simulated input sine wave? Or when I acquire on channel 0, which is assumed to be getting simulated signal, can changing the trigger level make any difference in the acquired waveform shape?

Regards

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 7
(5,632 Views)