cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

5133 not visible in LabVIEW

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi All,

Just bought a USB-5133 2-channel high speed digitizer and would like to pull in waveforms under LabVIEW 8.2. The instrument installed without event, works fine under NI-SCOPE, is visible under the Measurement and Automation Explorer (MAX version 4.5), passes all the self tests and test panels, but I have not yet been able to get LabView to talk to it. I'm new to LabVIEW 8.2, so I'm probably doing something foolish. Typically, I'd like to use the DAQmx Assistant to create a simple analog input VI. However, to do so requires that you use MAX to create a DAQmx Task or Global Virtual Channel. Efforts to create such get as far as the dialog box to select a Physical device, and it lists no physical devices available. No DAQmx handle seems to be able to browse to the digitizer

I notice that dropping an IVI Logical Name DOES list dev1 in the drop-down menu... Is this the route to get to this device?

Can anyone recommend a part of the documentation or an example LabVIEW VI for talking directly to the USB-5133? We need a faster route to getting started talking to it.

Thanks!!

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 9
(8,244 Views)
Solution
Accepted by rogersct
You have a scope instrument and that is not programmed with the DAQ Assistant or the DAQmx driver. Yes, you can use the IVI scope class functions to program it or you can use the NI-Scope functions that are on your Instrument I/O>Instrument Driver palette. I don't have the NI-Scope driver installed on this pc but I believe the example finder has some examples. Look under Hardware Input and Output>Instrument Drivers
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 9
(8,239 Views)

Thanks Dennis,

Handy examples are under the NI-SCOPE VIs functions in LabVIEW. It's a bit confusing to see the device appear under DAQmx in the MAX utility, and yet have no route to talking to it with DAQmx in LabVIEW. Still, NI-Scope VIs talk to it immediately.