GPU Computing

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Questions about Multi-channel FFT example

Hi, MathGuy,

I am a layman to GPU but very happy to join this group.

When I learn Multi-channel FFT.vi and try to modify it for my application, I found several questions.

1. Why the VI compares the size of #of Channels and samples/channel at the begining and use the smaller to be the input for the Initialize Library.VI?

2. The Downloaddata.VI accepts 1D or 2D array data input, but the description does not well introduce the format or structure of the input 1D or 2D array. Now if I want to do FFT on a 3D cubic (x,y,z) array along its "z" direction (which means I have x*y channels), do I need to first convert it into at least a 2D (x*y,z) array before input them into Downloaddata.vi?

I am using LV2012 64bit, win7 64bit and GPU analysis toolkit.

Thank you for your help.

best,

Xsword

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 6
(9,730 Views)

Good questions:

1. The check for size/channel vs # of channels was a limitation from previous versions of CUDA. The toolkit supports v4.0 or later and I did not check if the FFT in v4.0 supports having more channels than the sample size. I have verified the limit is no longer there for v5.0.

2. The format of the input and output data for an FFT is defined by NVIDIA documentation. We tried not to duplicate in our help any information that specific to NVIDIA  because the behavior can change between versions of CUDA. To learn more about how they 'consume' array data that's downloaded, you can go to https://developer.nvidia.com/cuFFT.